Dunmore East Light

From lighthouses

Jump to: navigation, search
Dunmore East Light in 1995 - 22nd trip
Dunmore East Light in 1995 - 22nd trip

Dunmore East, Co Waterford, Ireland

Built: 1825

Automated: 1922

This light is located on the Waterford shore on the pier-head directly across the entrance to Waterford Harbour from the Hook Head tower. Its fluted Doric column and cast-iron lattice balcony make it unique among Irish lighthouses. It used oil lamps until 1922 when it was converted to acetylene. In 1964 it was converted to electricity.

Navigational Options

Lighthouses: A Photographic Journey

Conceived and Developed by David S. Carter
Photographs by Donald W. Carter
Text by Diana K. Carter, Donald W. Carter & David S. Carter

Copyright © 1995-2011 David S. Carter, Donald W. Carter, & Diana K. Carter. All rights reserved. Reproduction by any means, physical or electronic, in part or in full, without the express permission of the authors, is strictly prohibited.

This article was last modified on 6/4/2009.

Personal tools